Contact information

Email: 2.71828cotner@gmail.com (personal), ecotner@atd-us.com (work)

Location: Mountain View, CA

Social/messaging: LinkedIn, Twitter

Résumé

Short bio

Early life/education

I was born in Laguna Beach, CA in 1990. At seven, I moved to Poway, in northern San Diego county, where I grew up until graduating from Poway High School in 2009. For my bachelors, I went to UC San Diego in La Jolla, and graduated with a degree in physics in 2013. My time in San Diego was very enjoyable, and is an awesome place to live. The beach is never any more than 30 minutes away, there's always great Mexican food nearby, and everyone is really chill.

For my graduate studies, I moved to Los Angeles to attend UCLA in Westwood, where I specialized in theoretical astroparticle physics. LA is a lot like San Diego in terms of the beach, weather, etc, but it has a different culture. Everything is more ambitious, international, and diverse, and you get the sense that you're surrounded by important things and people. The food scene is unreal too. I received my Masters' in 2014 after passing UCLA's qualifying exam, did several years of intense study and teaching, and (successfully) defended my PhD thesis in May of 2018. Though I left academia for the private sector, I'm still semi-active within the physics community and continue to collaborate with my advisor and others.

Career

During my final years at UCLA, I became interested in machine learning and AI, and decided that I would like to pursue a career in data science. I currently work at American Tire Distributors near Charlotte, NC as a data scientist (as of Feb. 2019), where I find ways to mathematically model and solve supply chain and operations problems. Some interesting problems I have been able to work on involve Monte Carlo simulation of supply chain networks, the optimization of delivery routes under customer demand uncertainty, and clustering products to improve demand forecasts.

Hobbies

My hobbies are mainly diving, cooking, and programming. I started diving in the spring of 2018 when my dad urged me to get my certification before taking a trip to Roatán, Honduras (the above picture was taken there). I have since become addicted and try to dive as often as I can, in as many new and interesting places as possible. Besides Honduras, I have been to the Great Barrier reef in Australia, Enseñada in Mexico, Catalina Island off the coast of Los Angeles, wreck diving in Morehead City, NC, and diving in an abandoned quarry in Raleigh. I currently hold my Advanced Open Water certification.

I like to think I'm a good cook. I make a pretty good pasta, a decent chicken makhani, and superb grilled cheese. My specialty is probably desserts though. I'm a sucker for crème brûlée, so of course I have my own ramekins and butane torch. I typically make way too many; please help me eat them.

Even though I program for a living, I still enjoy casual coding as a hobby. I've made some music-oriented software to convert iTunes playlists to other formats, and created my own music database in PostgreSQL. I'm also interested in experimenting with neural networks, especially novel architectures and activation functions. I also made this entire website from scratch using flask. (You don't even want to know how many hours I spent tweaking the CSS to get the navbar just right...) You can find some of my projects on GitHub.